Tuesday, November 15, 2011

KISStory, On this Day, November 15, 1988

Smashes, Thrashes & Hits is released

Kiss released their fourth "Best of" compilation. The album, which was also released in a special picture disc, gate fold edition, highlighted 16 of Kiss' hits. some remixed, including a remake of "Beth" with Eric Carr on vocals. The album pulls from Kiss 80's hits and remixes of Kiss 70's classics.

Two new tracks were recorded including the first single, "Let's Put the X in Sex," which saw Kiss playing a little funky (with video) which peaked at #49 on the Billboard Singles Charts and "(You Make Me) Rock Hard" which also included an accompanying video with Kiss in a circus-like theme. The album peaked on the US Billboard Album 200 at #21 and sold over 2 million copies.

A compilation video of "Rock And Roll All Nite" featuring clips of Kiss live with and without makeup was also released to support the album.

Track Listing:
1. Let's Put the X in Sex
2. Crazy Crazy Nights
3. (You Make Me) Rock Hard
4. Love Gun (remix)
5.  Detroit Rock City (remix)
6. I Love It Loud (remix)
7. Reason To Live
8. Lick It Up
9. Heaven's On Fire
10. Caling Dr. Love
11. Strutter (remix)
12. Beth (Eric Carr vocal)
13. Tears Are Falling
14. I Was Made For Lovin' You
15. Rock And Roll All Nite (remix)
16. Shout It Out Loud (remix)

No comments: