Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Kiss DESTROYER 35th Anniversary!

Kiss' DESTROYER released on this day March 15, 1976.
It's hard to believe it's been 35 years since the release of Destroyer!
Kiss' landmark fourth studio break-through album was released on this day in 1976. The album featured a more polished, sleeker sound for Kiss and peaked on Billboard's Top 200 Album Charts at #11. The album spawned many Kiss classics  Detroit Rock City, God of Thunder, Shout It Out Loud as well as the chart topper, Beth, produced by legendary producer Bob Ezrin.
The distintive artwork was done by Ken Kelly who the band later commissioned him to create the artwork for Love Gun. April 22, 1976 the album was certified Gold. On November 11, 1976,  Destroyer became the first Kiss album to be certified platinum. Beth  peaked at #7 on the Singles chart. Singles released,  Shout It Out Loud, Flaming Youth, and Detroit Rock City with the B-Side Beth becoming the fourth single.  The album featured the Harlem Boys Choir on Great Expectations.

No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length

1. "Detroit Rock City" Paul Stanley, Bob Ezrin Stanley 5:17
2. "King of the Night Time World" Stanley, Ezrin, Kim Fowley, Mark Anthony Stanley 3:19
3. "God of Thunder" Stanley Gene Simmons 4:13
4. "Great Expectations" Simmons, Ezrin Simmons 4:24
5. "Flaming Youth" Ace Frehley, Stanley, Simmons, Ezrin Stanley 2:59
6. "Sweet Pain" Simmons Simmons 3:20
7. "Shout It Out Loud" Stanley, Simmons, Ezrin Stanley, Simmons 2:49
8. "Beth" Peter Criss, Ezrin, Stan Penridge Criss 2:45
9. "Do You Love Me?" Stanley, Ezrin, Kim Fowley Stanley 3:40
10. "Rock and Roll Demons (ghost track)" Simmons, Stanley, Ezrin Instrumental 1:25

Chart Peak Positions:
Sweden - 4

Austria - 6
Canada - 6
U.S. Pop Albums - 11
New Zealand -16
Japan - 17
U.K. - 22
Germany - 36

No comments: